Final PC Build
HaZarD
Gone to BMQ. Getting Jacked up!
*****

Posts: 1,534
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #1

P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3
http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_S...ELUXEGEN3/

i5-2500k (Will be overclocked)
Asus 6950 2G-GDDR5

CoolerMaster 212 CPU Fan with additional 120mm Fan
http://www.coolermaster.com/product.php?product_id=6603

A-Data 120G SSD (revised edition and no reliability issues with new release unlike the review of this one)
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/storage...-s511.html

CoolerMaster 932 Advanced
http://www.coolermaster.com/product.php?product_id=6693

650W PSU 89% Efficiency

8GB of Kingston Hyper X 1600 Ram (Will be Overclocked)

500G WD
80G WD (Important file backup drive on seperate power line in case of surge)

2x LG 2211 Monitors
http://www.lg.com/uk/it-products/monitor...E2211T.jsp

$1500 tax in... CDN funds

Gun Doc / Tech Support :
TM M14
ICS M4's
Ver.2, Ver.3, Ver.7

[Image: HaZarD_zpsr0xwcogr.png]
Quote
Chef
Posting Freak
*****

Posts: 2,718
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 8
Post: #2

That's pretty similar to what I just bought. Runs like a dream.

(07-08-2012 04:03 PM)Moderate Wrote:  It'd be like your pharmacist importing cocaine, cutting it, and then selling it to you...it's still illegal.
Quote
HaZarD
Gone to BMQ. Getting Jacked up!
*****

Posts: 1,534
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #3

What did you get?

Gun Doc / Tech Support :
TM M14
ICS M4's
Ver.2, Ver.3, Ver.7

[Image: HaZarD_zpsr0xwcogr.png]
Quote
Chef
Posting Freak
*****

Posts: 2,718
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 8
Post: #4

Intel Core i5 2500
8 GB GSkill 1600mhz Ram
P8Z67-M Pro
1 TB SATA 2 WD Black HDD
OCZ SATA 2 60GB SSD
Gigabyte GTX 560 OC to 900mhz (1 GB DDR5)
Thermaltake TR2 RX 650W PSU semi-modular
Coolmaster Elite Case with Case Fan

For monitors I am using some old ones I have around, my primary is an Acer X183H Wide Screen and the other is an NEC 70GX2 Opticlear (bout 5 years old).

I want to put another case fan in, I find it runs a bit on the warm side still.

I also want to get rid of my SATA 2 HDD and SDD and put in some SATA 3 to take full advantage of the 6 gb/s data speeds the board can put it out.

Cost me a little over 1100$ to build but I already had the monitors, HDD and SDD.

(07-08-2012 04:03 PM)Moderate Wrote:  It'd be like your pharmacist importing cocaine, cutting it, and then selling it to you...it's still illegal.
(This post was last modified: 12-23-2011 02:23 AM by Chef.)
Quote
HaZarD
Gone to BMQ. Getting Jacked up!
*****

Posts: 1,534
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #5

That SSD is known to have issues.. I would get rid of it quick or make it a backup on your system. Go with A-Data Series 3.. They run better than OCZ and are cheaper.

Gun Doc / Tech Support :
TM M14
ICS M4's
Ver.2, Ver.3, Ver.7

[Image: HaZarD_zpsr0xwcogr.png]
Quote
Durak
Warmongers
*****

Posts: 2,352
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 16
Post: #6

im going with:
Thermaltake armor +MX VH8000BWS Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Mid Tower
Intel core i7 950
24gb Kingston 1333 DDR3
EVGA 3Gb Gtx 580
Thermaltake toughpower 1000w
ASUS Rampage 3
Western Digital 1.5Tb

total cost at the moment is just over 2100, tax and shipping all in.

If you cant fix it with a hammer, you have an electrical problem.

One of the most sincere forms of flattery, is when the opposition thinks you are doing so much harm, that they want to blow you up.
Quote
fata
Member
***

Posts: 315
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #7

oh man I'm so jealous. I gotta wait til August to consider doing a new build
Quote
Chef
Posting Freak
*****

Posts: 2,718
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 8
Post: #8

(12-23-2011 08:12 AM)HaZarD Wrote:  That SSD is known to have issues.. I would get rid of it quick or make it a backup on your system. Go with A-Data Series 3.. They run better than OCZ and are cheaper.

I am not really using it for anything right now because of that. I even tried to update the firmware on it and it wouldn't recognize it.

(07-08-2012 04:03 PM)Moderate Wrote:  It'd be like your pharmacist importing cocaine, cutting it, and then selling it to you...it's still illegal.
Quote
Weasel
Junior Member
**

Posts: 165
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9

Hahaha i am so glad you guys know how to get good builds. I have made 130$ helping friends pick out what they need for their laptops... + an additional 200$ installing parts or fixing PC's Big Grin

Just thought i would share Wink

Evan

Don't feel bad. A lot of people have no talent.
Quote
HaZarD
Gone to BMQ. Getting Jacked up!
*****

Posts: 1,534
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #10

Nice durak. Your Hdd will be your bottleneck. As it stands my pc will boot in :-10 seconds and restart and reboot in 40sec

Gun Doc / Tech Support :
TM M14
ICS M4's
Ver.2, Ver.3, Ver.7

[Image: HaZarD_zpsr0xwcogr.png]
Quote
Funk
Junior Member
**

Posts: 239
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #11

(12-23-2011 08:12 AM)HaZarD Wrote:  That SSD is known to have issues.. I would get rid of it quick or make it a backup on your system. Go with A-Data Series 3.. They run better than OCZ and are cheaper.

I'll also attest to OCZ troubles first-hand. Had two of them and they both crapped out.

Got one replaced on RMA and took the other apart for a laugh. (The replacement was a newer model that's still working in our media machine.)
Quote
LUTNIT
Hero.
*****
Age Verifier

Posts: 1,444
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 20
Post: #12

My new build:
[Image: hamster+on+wheel.JPG]

I'm still having zero issues running all recent releases at max settings with my desktop from 3 years ago:
Intel Core2Duo Q6600
Kingston something-or-other 4GB DDR2
Gigabyte GTX 560 overclocked from the factory (a recent upgrade from my GTX 260)
WD Caviar Black 1TB

Don't remember the motherboard or power supply off the top of my head. I wasn't able to run Skyrim at max without choppyness until I swapped out to the GTX560 but now its not an issue. Loading times are no hell but I could care less about a couple extra seconds.

The most important thing attaced to my desktop is my 8TB RAID array with all my anime, porn, and anime porn on it.

Man without bacon should not fry shirt.
(This post was last modified: 12-24-2011 01:17 PM by LUTNIT.)
Quote
Lymbo
Critter for El Presidente
*****
Age Verifier

Posts: 806
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 14
Post: #13

Hamster? Oh good, we've moved on from ponies. Thank jeebus.

I like long walks, especially when they are taken by people who annoy me.
Quote
LUTNIT
Hero.
*****
Age Verifier

Posts: 1,444
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 20
Post: #14

(12-24-2011 01:31 PM)Lymbo Wrote:  Hamster? Oh good, we've moved on from ponies. Thank jeebus.

Only because Chef doesn't like it when we post ponies (and I couldn't find a pic of one on a wheel; yes I looked.)

Man without bacon should not fry shirt.
Quote
Chef
Posting Freak
*****

Posts: 2,718
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 8
Post: #15

whoa, dont pin that on me, if its relevant go for the ponies.

(07-08-2012 04:03 PM)Moderate Wrote:  It'd be like your pharmacist importing cocaine, cutting it, and then selling it to you...it's still illegal.
Quote


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)